top of page

Tom's Health Journey: From Debilitating Joint Pain to Daily Exercise!


When Tom was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis 3 years ago, it hurt me to know he was suffering, especially when I knew how to help.


I knew how powerful dietary changes could be for healing from autoimmune conditions.


It fills me with so much joy today when he tells me he is feeling healthy again!


His journey is one that inspires me to keep working in the field of nutrition, reminding me just how powerful food truly is.


If you're thinking about making changes to your eating pattern because it might help you heal, I hope this story inspires you as well.


Tom's Story:

My journey started 3 years ago when I was 57 years old. I was always in very good condition until I was bitten by two large dogs. Shortly after the dog bites I developed the autoimmune disease Rheumatoid Arthritis. It progressed to a point where I could no longer use my hands. Both ankles and my left knee were also highly affected and the pain level was extreme. Being self employed and not being able to work was potentially devastating to my family's future.
I started at Dartmouth Hitchcock with the normal procedures, evaluations, blood work, xrays, etc. Over the course of the next year and a half I was on 5 different medications. Starting with Prednisone, then Methotrexate, then Humira, then Enbrel, and finally Xeljanz. All of these are used to suppress the immune system so it stops attacking my joints. None of these had any major effect on my condition and all had serious side effects.
I decided to change course drastically and was consulted by Braelynne on using foods and nutrition to change how my body functions. What has occurred in the past year and a half is nothing short of a miracle.
With her guidance we eliminated all foods that are inflammatory in nature, which all but stopped the swelling in my joints and subsequently removed the pain. Her knowledge on nutrition is second to none and more importantly she listens to your situation, analyzes it, and then comes up with a solution. I have told her many times that she has saved my life and I am eternally grateful.
I am an engineer by trade so I like to attack problems with hard data and not just opinion. The Rheumatology doctors at Dartmouth are amazed at the results, they were the ones who told me I would never get better without pharmaceutical medication. With Braelynne's guidance and the hard data, we were able to prove them wrong.
I'm drug free, running three miles three times a week and working out with free weights five days a week. It is so refreshing to see that there are viable alternatives to drugs. The key is finding a knowledgeable dietitian that can style a program for you to follow, the rest is up to you. With Braelynne you're already halfway there. I cannot recommend her more highly.
- Tom

bottom of page