top of page

The Power of Gratitude



What is gratitude? The quality or feeling of being grateful or thankful


Have you ever stopped to think about what you have to be grateful for?


This was not really something I focused on until recently after learning how practicing gratitude is a simple, yet powerful act with a multitude of health benefits.


So I finally jumped in and started writing at least one thing that I was grateful for each day. Sometimes I would expand on this and sometimes I'd just make a statement. And you know what? I could not have started this practice at a better time.


I began practicing gratitude in the midst of wedding planning. A very stressful time, despite my efforts to make it not so.


I received a lot of opinions. And I had to make decisions about what I wanted. For a very indecisive person who makes most decisions based on what will make other people happy, this was hard.


So I began focusing on the good parts. The parts of the process I could be grateful for, often turning something that was frustrating into something I could be happy about.

For example, my mom had lots of opinions that I did not necessarily agree with all the time and this was difficult for me, as it is for most brides. So instead I chose to focus on the fact that I had my mom with me through this process, and she loved and cared about me so much she was just trying to help me make the day perfect.


Once I acknowledged this, accepting and considering all opinions and advice become much easier. I knew everyone was just trying to help.


A handful of other things I was grateful for during this time were:

  • Coffee - At the time I was beginning a new job as an outpatient dietitian where I worked with many bariatric patients who could no longer have caffeine, and I remained grateful that this was not something I had to give up.

  • Hayden - My (at the time) soon-to-be husband, who accepts every part of me - flaws and all.

  • Extra time - When I wake up early, I'm able to accomplish and reflect more.

  • Vacation - I was grateful to be able to go away on my planned vacation in August and again for my honeymoon in September despite just starting my new job.

  • For growing up with two, loving parents - I know not everyone is this fortunate.

  • For my future sister-in-law - Who gave me a devotional book that I absolutely loved and helped me so much in general and through this wedding planning process

  • To be alive - If I'm alive, it's God's will, so I must still have a purpose here.

  • The life I've lived so far - Sometimes I take a step back to recognize that I've lived a pretty fortunate life, and even if it ended now, I'd be happy.

  • Daily BMs - After suffering from chronic constipation for years, this is truly a blessing for me.

  • Having food on the table - The night before, I wasn't in a great mood, and I had complained that there wasn't enough vegetables for dinner, but then reminded myself to be grateful that I had food at all when others aren't as fortunate.

  • My soon-to-be in-laws - Who provided a lot of help and assistance for our wedding and gifted my husband and I a night at a hotel closer to our venue.

  • Everyone who helped with our wedding - I couldn't have done it all alone.

  • Getting to marry my best friend - After our ceremony on our wedding day, I broke down, bawling my eyes out just because I was so happy and grateful for everything and everyone and getting married (and also likely just finally released all the nerves and built-up anxiety). Oh look, my photographer, Shayla Ashley (who is AMAZING by the way!), even captured a photo of this moment...

Sometimes it's the little things and sometimes it's the bigger picture. Regardless, of what you are grateful for, however, practicing gratitude daily has incredible benefits for both mind and body.


Those who practice gratitude are more likely to have improvements in:


  1. Physical health

  2. Mindset and outlook

  3. Sleep

  4. Nutrition


1. Physical health

People who are grateful are more likely to exercise regularly, have fewer aches and pains, stronger immune systems, and better heart health. Those who practice gratitude are also more likely to get yearly physical exams, not because they are sick, but because they care about their health and taking care of their bodies (1,2).


Although I am only an experiment of n=1, this is definitely true for me. I make sure to go to the dentist twice a year and the doctor once a year just to make sure that I am maintaining my health.


2. Mindset and outlook

People who practice gratitude tend to have increased mental alertness, cope better and have increased resilience when hit with stress and day-to-day challenges. They also tend to have decreased feelings of stress, anxiety, and depression in general. They tend to feel happier and optimistic, and maintain more positive outlooks for the future (1,2).


3. Sleep

Studies show that those who practice gratitude tend to sleep better and longer. Even just spending 15 minutes a night writing down a few grateful statements shows benefits (2).


4. Nutrition

People who are grateful tend to eat healthier (1). This is likely in relation to the fact that those who practice gratitude tend to take better care of their bodies, and what we choose to fuel and nourish our bodies with makes a HUGE impact on our health and well-being.


When we eat better, we tend to feel better and have more energy. When we have more energy we tend to move more, and when we move more we de-stress better, along with many other benefits. It all relates. And it all starts with making just one simple mindset shift: choosing something to be grateful for each day.


I started this practice when wedding planning, and it continues to be a daily practice that helps me keep a positive mindset and cope with other challenges in life because there will always be something. When one thing gets settled, another comes up. It's how we handle these challenges that make the difference between a life we are unhappy with and one we love - no matter what life throws at us.


There are specific gratitude journals out there, which you can use if this feels too new or overwhelming for you, but they're not necessary. All you need is a pen and paper or a blank document and a keyboard. I use a generic journal, styled in a way that makes me want to write in it - but it does not matter! It is whatever works for you!


All you need to do is START. So, what are you grateful for today?


Sources

1. Madell, Robin. Benefits of Gratitude. Healthline. June 20, 2017. https://www.healthline.com/health/depression/giving-thanks#1


2. Greenfield, Ben. 4 Potent Reasons To Unleash The Most Powerful Emotion That Exists (& The Exact Gratitude Journal I Personally Use Each Morning). Ben Greenfield Fitness. https://bengreenfieldfitness.com/article/lifestyle-articles/ben-greenfields-gratitude-journal/

bottom of page